Georgia Third Offense DUI Penalties

Please read the following important information if you have a third offense DUI and reside in the state of Georgia.

Third Offense within a Five-Year Period

Georgia Third Offense DUI Penalties
Fine

You must pay a fine of $1000-$5000 plus statutory surcharges.

License Revocation

With a third offense, you are deemed a habitual violator. If you are over 21, your license is revoked for five years. If your case fell on or after May 1, 2000, in order to get your probationary license after two years, you will have to complete DUI school, complete assessment and counseling, and have the ignition interlock device installed in your car.  You can then get your probationary license and will be required to have the ignition interlock device for at least six months.

If you are under 21, you will suffer the same five year suspension.

License Plate Confiscation

Your license plates on all registered vehicles must be surrendered. If your case was on or after July 1, 2001, you may obtain either a probationary license or full reinstatement, and your license plates can be reissued for registered vehicles. Special hardship plates are available in certain circumstances for co-owners or family members.

Alcohol Assessment and Treatment

Following a third DUI offense, you must be evaluated and complete all treatment recommendations before you can get your ignition interlock permit.

Photo Published

After paying a $25 fee, your photograph, name and address, as well as the date, time, place of arrest will be published in your local newspaper.

Community Service

If your case was made on or after July 1, 2001, you must complete 30 days of community service.

Jail

For a third DUI offense, you will receive 120 days to 12 months, all but 15 days of which may be suspended, stayed or probated. If your case was made on or after May 1, 1999, you must complete 12 months probation less any jail time.

Free Georgia DUI Case Evaluation

Free Georgia DUI Case Evaluation
Georgia DUI Video Library
Georgia DUI Breath Test
Georgia DUI HGN Test - Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus
Georgia DUI Walk and Turn Test
Georgia DUI One Leg Stand Test